Appointment of President and Vice-Presidents

Summary

1. The General Assembly is invited to appoint a President and Vice-Presidents for 2007/2008.

Recommendations

2. That Lord Richard Best be appointed President of the Association and the MPs, Peers, and MEPs listed in paragraph 3 below be appointed as Vice-Presidents for 2007/2008.

3. **MPs**

Conservatives

Christopher Chope OBE MP
The Rt Hon David Curry MP
Andrew Lansley CBE MP
Eric Pickles MP
Caroline Spelman MP
Alistair Burt MP

Labour

Clive Betts MP
Mary Creagh MP
Rt Hon Nick Raynsford MP
Barry Sheerman MP

Liberal Democrat

Lynne Featherstone MP
Julia Goldsworthy MP
Paul Rowen MP
Andrew Stunell OBE MP1

Peers

Conservative

Baroness Hanham CBE
Lord Hanningfield DL
The Rt Hon The Lord Jenkin of Roding
Lord Bruce-Lockhart of the Weald

Labour

Lord Toby Harris
Baroness Pat Hollis
Lord Peter Smith
Lord Larry Whitty

Liberal Democrat

Baroness Barker Lord Bradshaw Lord Dholakia Baroness Maddock Lord Roger Roberts

Cross Benchers

Lord Ouseley
Lord Walpole
Lord Laming
Baroness Howarth of Breckland
Baroness Prashar

MEPs

Labour

Richard Howitt MEP

Conservative

Edward McMillan-Scott MEP

Liberal Democrat

Andrew Duff MEP Fiona Hall MEP Saj Karim MEP

Contact Officer: Cathy Boyle (cathy.boyle@lga.gov.uk) (020 7664 3205)